A Celebration of All Things Cultural, Artistic, and Entertaining in Madison
Jun 6, 2011
12:02 PM

Music City

Music City

Did you attend the eighth annual Madison Area Music Awards at Overture Center on Saturday? If you didn’t, why the heck not? Each year, the Madison Area Music Association honors a staggering variety of local talent, and it’s a fantastic event!

Hosted this time around by John Urban, the show not only gave out more than eighty awards to Madison-area performers, songs, albums, venues, fans, students and teachers; it also featured performances by rockers Sexy Ester & the Pretty Mama Sisters, vocalist Gerri DeMiaggio, Americana outfit The Rowdy Prairie Dogs, hip-hop group Star Persons and more. Highlights ranged from the Pro Arte Quartet, which celebrates its hundredth anniversary in 2012, to the MAMAs All-Star Guitar Showcase with Aaron Williams, John Masino and Joel Pingitore.

Beth Kille took home the Artist of the Year award. Read on for a list of all of this year’s winners. Remember these names and consider them a challenge: Hear them all, preferably live, before next year’s awards. Then be sure to attend the next MAMAs to celebrate local music and find even more performers to be inspired by and follow.


Artist of the Year Beth Kille
Michael St. John Lifetime Achievement Award Pro Arte Quartet

Genre Awards

Alternative Album Sexy Ester and the Pretty Mama Sisters – Hubba Hubba
Alternative Performer Sexy Ester and the Pretty Mama Sisters
Alternative Song Sexy Ester and the Pretty Mama Sisters – “Love Bubble”
Blues Album Clovis Mann – Metamorphic
Blues Performer Aaron Williams & the Hoodoo
Blues Song Clovis Mann – “Blowin’ Up the Shack”
Classical Song Toby Klusmeyer – “For All to See”
Classical Album Toby Klusmeyer – Love’s Secret
Country/Bluegrass Album The Mighty Short Bus – The Forever Endeavor
Country/Bluegrass Performer The Eugene Smiles Project
Country/Bluegrass Song The Eugene Smiles Project – “Tennessee Whiskey”
Cover Song Anna Vogelzang – “Bad Romance”
DJ Performer Nick Nice
Electronic Album The Projection People – The Projection People
Electronic Performer The Projection People
Electronic Song The Projection People – “Headlights”
Faith-Based Song Anthony Lamarr – “My Tomorrow”
Folk/Americana Album Jim Schwall – Short Stories
Folk/Americana Performer Jim Schwall
Folk/Americana Song The Mighty Short Bus – “Minnesota”
Hard Rock / Punk Album Orphan Bloom – Orphan Bloom
Hard Rock / Punk Performer Lords of the Trident
Hard Rock / Punk Song Clovis Mann – “Drowning Man”
Hip-Hop Album Star Persons – Supernova EP
Hip-Hop Performer Star Persons
Hip Hop Song Star Persons – “Supernova”
Jazz Album Harmonious Wail – The Vegan Zombie’s Lament
Jazz Performer Harmonious Wail
Jazz Song Lucas Cates Band – “Crucial Tactics”
Pop/R&B Album Lucas Cates Band – The Lucas Cates Band
Pop/R&B Performer Lucas Cates Band
Pop/R&B Song Lucas Cates Band - “Not the Right Catch”
Rock Album Beth Kille – Ready
Rock Performer The Mighty Short Bus
Rock Song Beth Kille – “Big Bright Beautiful World”
Unique Album Anna Vogelzang – Paper Boats
Unique Performer Art Paul Schlosser
Unique Song Natty Nation – “She Cries Dub (Suffice Dub)”
World Album Natty Nation – Suffice Single
World Performer Natty Nation
World Song Natty Nation – “Suffice”

Non-Genre Awards

Cover Band of the Year The Gomers
Ensemble Vocalist Harmonious Wail
Instrumentalist – Bassist Jah Boogie (Natty nation)
Instrumentalist – Brass Phil Lyons (Primitive Culture)
Instrumentalist – Drummer/Percussionist Jesse Warmka (Lucas Cates Band)
Instrumentalist – Guitarist Lucas Cates
Instrumentalist – Keyboardist Aaron Konkol (Natty Nation)
Instrumentalist – Strings Julia McConahay
Instrumentalist – Specialty Instruments Sims Delany Pothoff (Harmonious Wail) (Mandolin)
New Artist of the Year Star Persons
Video of the Year Zooniversity Music (“Teach Me How to Bucky”)
Vocalist of the Year - Female Lyndsay Evans (Sexy Ester and the Pretty Mama Sisters)
Vocalist of the Year - Male Mark Croft
Wish You Were Here Album Michael George Band – The Miracle
Wish You Were Here Song Heather Jean Maywood – “Forever More”

People's Choice Awards

Live Music Venue of the Year High Noon Saloon
Live Sound Engineer of the Year Mark Weber
Local Radio Personality of the Year Gabby Parsons
Local Radio Station of the Year 89.9 WORT
Local Music Publication/Blog of the Year Isthmus
Local Record Music Store of the Year B-Side Records
Recording Studio of the Year Paradyme Productions
Recording Studio Engineer of the Year Mike Zirkel
Local Music Fan of the Year Sarah Warmke

Youth Awards

Youth Album Kati May – Behind Blue Eyes
Youth Instrumentalist Colin Callahan
Youth Song Sam Lyons – “Some Day”
Youth Female Vocalist Kati May
Youth Male Vocalist Colin Callahan
Youth Ensemble Stoughton High School Choir

Special Awards

Student of the Year Ariela Bohrod
Teacher of the Year Michael Korth
Meritorious Achievement Award Katy Kavanagh

Launchpad Awards

Madison Regional Finalist Stereocolor
Madison Regional Finalist Moon Jelly
Madison Regional Finalist Sleeping in the Stereo
Song Sam Lyons – “Some Day”
Band Sleeping in the Stereo
Soloist Sheridan Hearn

For more information on the MAMAs, visit themamas.org.

Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

About This Blog

As managing editor at Madison Magazine, I'm also an unabashed arts enthusiast. Paintings, plays, music, movies—I'm intrigued by all forms of creative expression. I enjoy talking with artists and sharing their insights, challenges, inspirations and latest endeavors. Check in regularly for details on events, previews and reviews, artist interviews and more! 

– Katie Vaughn
Follow Katie on Twitter @katiemv

Recent Posts



Atom Feed Subscribe to the Spotlight Feed »